Japanese-Language Proficiency Test & Nihongo Assessment Test

A Brief Intro

The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) started in 1984. The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test (日本語能力試験 Nihongo Nōryoku Shiken), or JLPT, is a standardized criterion-referenced test to evaluate and certify Japanese language proficiency for non-native speakers, covering language knowledge, reading ability, and listening ability. The test is held twice a year in Japan and selected countries (on the first Sunday of July and December), and once a year in other regions. On the same pattern NAT is held six time a year.

JLPT – N5 (Beginners module – 150 hours)

One is able to read and understand typical expressions and sentences written in hirangana, katakana and basic Kanji.

JLPT - N 4 (100 hours – Elementary level)

One is able to read and understand passages on familiar daily topics written in basic vocabulary and Kanji.

JLPT – N3 (Intermediate level) 200 hours.

The ability to understand Japanese language used in everyday situation to a certain degree.